Finding a Webhost for your Blog By Dustin

So you have decided to try freelance writing or maybe you just have something to say and you want people to hear you out. The first thing you start doing is looking on the web for a blogging site to get started and let me tell you there are a lot to choose from. I mean it seriously just go ahead and type in blog sites in Google, or Yahoo, or Ask.com, or whatever search engine your heart desires. (there are about as many search engine choices as well but we can save that for another post.) OK so you typed it in an Abra-cadabra you end up with hundreds of choices as well as such wonderful sites as top 5 blog sites other than WordPress or Blogger.

Now its time to sort through the hundreds of choices but wait before you can even start doing that you have to decide a couple of things. First do you want your own website? If you do you need to find web hosting for that. (go ahead take a moment and search for that as well I’ll wait……I know crazy right.) Now you have another hundred or so choices to make of course that’s not the end of it all you need to decide what kind of blog you want , are you computer savvy do you have not clue one about computers or where to even start. It’s a confusing mass of information and now you have to wade through it and figure out what to do.

A little back story here on my own journey to give you an idea. I am a father of 3 wonderful children and I recently started a new job that I love very much but I work evenings and I am away from my kids, I do not like this at all my kids are my life. Well I have always had a passion for writing or story telling and as my wife points out I am a thinker and a dreamer so I have made the decision to become a freelance writer. So I purchased a copy of Writers Market 2012 which I recommend to anyone wanting to break into the writing industry. This book lays it all out for start to finish and needless to say helped me start everything. Now I have made this decision and realized hey I should start a blog and chronicle this little trip and see where it goes, so I did just what you did and Google searched blog sites and holy crap it was a lot.

Needless to say I ended up choosing Blogger because it linked through Google which I liked, but as I continued to think about my choices I realized I wanted to build my own site and get my own domain name which lead me to WordPress. The wonderful thing about WordPress is they offer Blog services but they also provide publishing platform and software for you to create your own place. They provide links to web hosting sites that are compatible with their service and it goes on from there.

Now WordPress ended up being the right choice for me and my goals and by no means am I saying its the best or perfect for everyone. Really the point is that you need to make a number of decisions about what you want and what your goals on when making this choice and really think before you leap. Do then research find what fits you best and go from there it can be a little intimidating I know but so worth the effort when you finally get started. So good luck on finding a home and if you would like some help or have questions feel free to let me know and I would be happy to help in any way possible.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

